Dr. Barbara Hibner Trailblazer Award & Scholarship

The University of Nebraska recognizes one student-athlete and one community leader each year with the Dr. Barbara Hibner Memorial Scholarship and Dr. Barbara Hibner Trailblazer Award. On this page you can find out more information about the award, past recipients, and the life of the remarkable woman whose name adorns both of these awards.

Dr. Barbara Hibner Memorial Scholarship

The Dr. Barbara Hibner Memorial Scholarship is presented each year to the student-athlete that has demonstrated a high level of athletic and academic achievement, community involvement, integrity and a passion for promoting women's athletics at Nebraska.

The scholarship was established July 18, 2007, with signatures from Barbara's sister Lynda Racer and the University of Nebraska Foundation. Any parties wishing to donate to this fund may do so by contacting the Huskers Athletic Fund (402-472-3111).

Past Recipients of the Barbara Hibner Memorial Scholarship

  • 2007-08: Stephanie Carter, Gymnastics
  • 2008-09: Amanda Gates, Volleyball
  • 2009-10: Kelsey Griffin, Basketball
  • 2010-11: Natalie Willer, Track and Field
  • 2011-12: Kaitlyn Burke, Basketball
  • 2012-13: Sunny Russell, Rifle
  • 2014-15: Mary Pollmiller, Volleyball
  • 2016-17: Carolyn Flynn, Soccer
  • 2017-18: Alli Peterson, Soccer & Emily Wood, Basketball
  • 2018-19: Mikaela Foecke, Volleyball
  • 2019-20: Sinclaire Miramontez, Soccer
  • 2020-21: Abigail Knapton, Swimming and Diving
  • 2021-22: Nicklin Hames, Volleyball
  • 2022-23: Mya Felder, Softball
  • 2023-24: Eleanor Dale, Soccer

Dr. Barbara Hibner Trailblazer Award

The Trailblazer Award, re-named the Dr. Barbara Hibner Trailblazer Award in 2007, is presented to an individual; family, or business, "in recognition of outstanding support and generous contributions to Nebraska women's athletics."

To read more about some of the past recipients click on their names in the following list.

Past Recipients