Lewis Training Table-SB 1558
Performance Nutrition

About

Performance Nutrition is composed of a talented, diverse, and reliable group of professionals who are deeply passionate and dedicated to our mission, fueling student athletes. The “Performance” subset of our organization is made up of several accomplished and intelligible registered dietitians who are a great resource and support to our student athletes. The “Nutrition” subset of our organization is made up of innovators and creatives of the culinary and hospitality industry. They are a group of highly trained and accredited individuals who have found a passion for living out their life in hospitality by serving the needs of the Husker student athlete population. Our “Performance” and “Nutrition” subsets come together in harmony to create the ideal fueling operation for our student athletes that we are proud to call Performance Nutrition.

Purpose

The purpose of the UNL Performance Nutrition department is to provide services that enhance the student athlete’s overall health and recovery.  Our Training Table operates and sets its menus with a student athlete first mentality. We seek to provide healthy, accommodating nutrition options for all our athletes at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Performance Nutrition seeks to provide fueling options and education to Husker student athletes, so they are adequately prepared and knowledgeable on the impact nutrition can have in their lives as athletes and after sport.

Goals

  • To offer a variety of food and beverage products that are readily available and accessible for all student athletes.
  • To provide a wealth of education and resources that each student athlete can utilize to enhance their overall level of knowledge and awareness as it pertains to fueling their body for competition and recovery.

Nutrition Overview

Our Training Table is the primary resource for student athletes to seek out holistic fueling options. Our Training Table operates and sets its menus with a student athlete first mentality. We seek to provide healthy, accommodating nutrition options for all our athletes at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. 

Our fueling stations are the secondary resource for student athletes to fulfill their fueling needs. The primary goal of our fueling stations is to provide quick and easy sources of nutrition and hydration to supplement training and competition.

Team rooms and competition fueling are an additional asset our student athletes can utilize. Each team has a dietitian that coordinates additional nutrition options to team rooms and around competition.

Husker Bucks are provided to student athletes to supplement meals on their own. Athletes have the chance to purchase a meal at local restaurants or choose to use the dollar value on groceries.

Education & Consultation

Each team has a sport specific dietitian who oversees the nutritional needs per team.  Our dietitians are a great resource for education and consultation to our student athletes. The dietitians conduct DEXAs for body composition assessment, hydration testing, consult with athletes individually, provide nutrition education team talks (hydration, Pre-workout fueling, recovery nutrition) and coordinating materials, host cooking classes & grocery store tours, and assist with fueling options surrounding competitions.

Lisa Kopecky Director of Performance Nutrition  lkopecky@huskers.com
Holland Stagemeyer Assistant Director of Performance Nutrition hstagemeyer@huskers.com
Ron Luth Sports RDN rluth@huskers.com
Jake Blattner Associate RDN jblattner@huskers.com
Riley Loy Associate RDN rloy@huskers.com
Bryce Benes Executive Sport Chef bbryce@huskers.com
Scott Burkle Assistant Sports Sous Chef sburkle@huskers.com
Roy Farrens Assistant Sports Sous Chef rfarrens@huskers.com
Zane Nelson Assistant Sports Sous Chef znelson@huskers.com
Rachel Voet Nutrition Education & Allergen Specialist (RD) rvoet@huskers.com
Jordan Rossell Performance Nutrition Billing Associate jrossell@huskers.com
Maryann Wynne Training Table Team Leader mwynne@huskers.com
Dave Eller Prep Cook deller@huskers.com
Shawn Gariboy Culinary Associate sgariboy@huskers.com
Jackson Steffen Culinary Associate jsteffen@huskers.com
Tori Beeler RDN Fellow tbeeler@huskers.com
Madison Musich RDN Fellow mmusich@huskers.com
Daniel Shaw RDN Fellow dshaw4@huskers.unl.edu
Kelsey Gaul Dish Room Supervisor kgaul@huskers.com
Bennie Mitchell Dining Services Associate bmitchell@huskers.com
Terry Schmailzl Dining Services Associate tschmailzl@huskers.com
Rebecca Wolf Dining Services Supply Associate rwolf@huskers.com
Bruce Atkins Dining Services Supply Associate batkins@huskers.com
Kevin Coleman Dining Services Associate kcoleman@huskers.com