zimmerman graduatezimmerman graduate
Track and Field

Huskers Claim Team Titles at Mark Colligan Memorial

Nebraska track and field earned the women’s and men’s team titles on Saturday at the Mark Colligan Memorial at the Devaney Center Indoor Track. Overall, the Huskers claimed 17 individual titles, with five performances moving up on the all-time list.

Nebraska's Henry Zimmerman and Colorado State’s Mya Lesnar were named the recipients of the Mark Colligan Memorial Award, given to the meet's most valuable throwers.

The award and meet are named after former NU assistant coach Mark Colligan, who passed away in 2011. Colligan was a member of the track and field program as an athlete and coach for over 25 years, coaching a total of 74 Big 12 Conference champions and five athletes who won a combined 12 national championships.

The Huskers took over the top five of the men’s weight throw, led by Zimmerman breaking his own school record with a 74-08 1/4 (22.76m). That puts him at the top of the Big Ten and at No. 2 in the NCAA. Max Herman placed second with a personal-best 64-09 3/4 (19.75m) and Josh Marcy finished third with a 62-06 1/2 (19.06m). Rounding out the top five, Brett Schwartz threw a PR 60-10 1/2 (18.55m) and Seth Schnackenberg added a PR 60-2 (18.34m) to take fourth and fifth.

Hillevi Carlsson and Ariel Ammentorp teamed up to grab top-three finishes in the women’s weight throw with personal-best marks. Carlsson took second with the No. 10 throw in school history, 63-3 1/2 (19.29m) while Ammentorp placed third with a 62-2 1/2 (18.96m). Cammy Garabian added a fourth-place finish with a distance of 61-07 1/2 (18.78m). In the shot put, Mine De Klerk (56-09 1/4, 17.30m) and Amelia Flynt (56-00 1/2, 17.08m) placed second and third. Flynt moved up to No. 6 in school history with her mark. Nebraska took the top two spots in the men’s shot put, with Kevin Shubert hitting 63-1 1/4 (9.23m) for first and Cade Moran throwing 61-1 1/2 (18.63m) for second.

Micaylon Moore hit 52-3 1/4 (15.93m) in the triple jump to win the event and put himself on top of the Big Ten. With today’s mark, he sits at No. 7 in the NCAA and No. 10 in school history. Terrol Wilson added a runner-up finish with a 48-11 3/4 (14.93m). NU took the top-three spots in the women’s triple jump, with Rhianna Phipps winning the event with a 41-0 1/2 (12.51m). Ashley McElmurry (40-7, 12.37m) and Lotavia Brown (39-3 1/4, 11.97m) finished second and third. Till Steinforth won the men’s long jump with the No. 2 mark in the Big Ten, 25-00 1/2 (7.63m).

Continuing the horizontal jump success, Nebraska swept the top three in the women’s long jump, led by Lishanna Ilves with a mark of 20-1 (6.12m). Velecia Williams claimed second with a 20-0 1/2 (6.11m) and Darby Thomas finished third with a 18-7 1/4 (5.67m). 

Jenna Rogers secured the high jump title with a height of (6-0 1/2, 1.84m). Her 6-2 3/4 (1.90m) from last weekend’s Graduate Classic still ranks No. 2 in the NCAA. Brooklyn Miller and Rebecca Pecora pitched in third- and fourth-place finishes, both clearing 5-8 (1.73m). Jessica Gardner tied for fifth in the women’s pole vault, clearing 12-8 (3.86m). In the men’s high jump, Tyus Wilson finished as runner-up with a height of 6-11 1/2 (2.12m). Reid Nelson placed fifth with a mark of 6-9 3/4 (2.08m).

The freshmen distance duo of Berlyn Schutz and Ali Bainbridge cruised to a 1-2 finish in the mile. Schutz jumped to No. 6 all-time and No. 2 in the Big Ten with a time of 4:41.91, while Bainbridge clocked a 4:51.87. One of the two freshmen led NU at all six cross country meets this past fall. Schutz went on to run to an 800m victory with a time of  2:10.21. In the men’s mile, Gabe Nash led NU with a time of 4:11.42 to finish third. Erik Snell was NU’s top finisher in the men’s 800m, clocking a 1:56.36 to take fourth.

Brynna McQuillen (9:49.34) and Cami Merickel (9:53.59) took first and second in the women’s 3000m. On the men’s side, Trevor Acton secured the 3000m win with a personal-best 8:25.07, while Sadio Fenner placed second with a 8:28.25.

In the 60m hurdles, Johanna Ilves ran a personal-best 8.38 to win the final. That time ties her for ninth in school 5. Freshman Jeremiah Smith won the men’s 60m, running the stretch in 6.84. Till Steinforth ran to third with a 6.85.

Abrielle Artley ran a PR 55.84 in the 400m, earning second and the No. 3 time in the Big Ten. In the 600m, Hayley Trotter covered the track in 1:35.82 to take first, while Zoie Ecord cruised to third in 1:38.97. On the men’s side, Niko Schultz (1:18.21) and Holden Ruse (1:20.70) teamed up for a 1-2 finish in the 600m.  Kavian Kerr crossed the line first in the men’s 200m in a time of 21.64. Arianna Walker placed third in the women’s 200m, running a 24.81. 

The Huskers men (Nick Bryant, Cory Berg, Nico Schultz, Tyrell Pierce) teamed up to win the 4x400m relay in 3:15.40. The women (Artley, Karlie Moore, Pecora, Meghan Walker) placed third in the 4x400m relay with a time of 3:48.51. 

Nebraska returns to competition Feb. 2-3 to host the Frank Sevigne Husker Invitational at the Devaney Center Indoor Track.

Final Team Standings
Nebraska (170)
Wichita State (108)
South Dakota (94)
Colorado State (55)
Sacramento State (27)

Nebraska (177.5)
South Dakota (132.5)
Wichita State (74.5)
Colorado State (52.5)
Sacramento State (24)