A Night at the Lied 2024-SB 5325Lindsey Thiele Sadio Fenner Heart and Soul Award A Night at the Lied 2024

Heart and Soul Award

Formerly known as the Gerard Life Skills Award of Excellence, the Heart and Soul Award is presented annually at A Night at the Lied to Nebraska student-athletes who have consistently gone above and beyond with community service and outreach initiatives throughout their college career. Dubbed the "Heisman of Life Skills," each recipient must be a senior student-athlete who is in their final season of athletic eligibility. Honorees are determined by Life Skills and Academic Support staff as well as coaches.

2024 - Sadio Fenner (Men's Cross Country; Track & Field); Lindsey Thiele (Women's Golf)

2023 - Nicklin Hames (Volleyball); Mikey Hoffer (Men's Track & Field); Passmore Mudundulu (Men's Track & Field); Megan Whittaker (Women's Golf)

2022 - Cassidy Ray (Bowling), Karlee Seevers (Softball), Ben Stille (Football)

2021 -  Emily Cheramie (Rifle), Kaitlynn Johnson (Women's Cross Country), Kate Smith (Women's Golf), Emma Worley (Women's Tennis)

2020 - Kayla Gadeken (Rifle), Sierra Hassel (Women's Gymnastics), David Jensen (Wrestling), Sinclaire Miramontez (Soccer), Haley Thiele (Women's Golf)

2019 -  Freedom Akinmoladun (Football), Bri Cassidy (Softball), Tanner Farmer (Football), Jerald Foster (Football), Jackie Jeschke (Swimming and Diving), Catelyn Orel (Women's Gymnastics), Nina Radulovic (Rifle) and Aris Shino (Wrestling).

2018 - Connor Adamsick (Men's Gymnastics) Danielle Breen (Women's Gymnastics) Jake McSteen (Baseball) Gina Metzler (Softball) Erin Oeltjen (Swimming & Diving) Alli Peterson (Soccer) Katt Sickle (Swimming & Diving)

2017 - Trey Foster (Football); Collin Jensen (Wrestling); Jennie Laeng (Women’s Gymnastics)

2016 - Mattie Fowler (Softball), Levi Gipson (Men's Track & Field), Ethan Lottman (Men's Gymnastics), and Nate Wong, (Men's Golf)

2015 - Samantha Areman (Soccer); Devandrew Johnson (Men's Track & Field); Rebekah Land (Swimming & Diving); Ian Ousley (Wrestling); Desire' Stephens (Gymnastics)

2014 - Amanda Burau (Bowling); Caleb Kolb (Wrestling); Sunny Russell (Rifle); and CJ Zimmerer (Football)

2013 - Ben Cotton (Football); Kelsey Larson (Swimming & Diving); and Mary Weatherholt (Women's Tennis)

2012 - Ashley Guile (Softball)

2011 - Jordan Burroughs (Wrestling); Erin Hannon (Women's Track & Field); and Alex Henery (Football)

2010 - Blake Lawrence (Football)

2009 - Betsy Miller (Women's Cross Country; Track & Field)

2008 - Matt Senske (Football)

Sam Foltz 27 HERO Leadership Award

The Sam Foltz 27 HERO Leadership Award, named in honor of late Husker punter Sam Foltz, awards student-athlete leaders from each varsity sport. The criteria for the HERO Award include exceptional leadership, consistent and dedicated community service, and positive influence on the team. Nominees are identified by the Life Skills staff with approval from the Academic staff and Head Coaches. HERO recipients are announced at the annual A Night at the Lied student-athlete recognition event held at the Lied Center for Performing Arts every April. Click here to view all previous Sam Foltz 27 HERO Leadership Award winner.

2024 Sam Foltz 27 HERO Leadership Award Recipients

Trevor Acton (Cross Country/Track & Field) Deavion Deleon (Cross Country/Track & Field)
Josiah Allick (Basketball) Isaac Gifford (Football)
Marie Alukonis-Pfannenstiel (Track & Field) Emily Haimes (Swimming & Diving)
Sarah Barton (Swimming & Diving) Callin Hake (Basketball)
Alexis Buchert (Bowling) Cale Jacobsen (Basketball)
John Bullock (Football) Camilla Johannessen (Rifle)
Lauren Buzzell (Soccer) Katie Kuenemann (Gymnastics)
Caitlin Cairns (Swimming & Diving) Luke Lindenmeyer (Football)
Katelyn Caneda (Softball) Lucy Loy (Tennis)
Laney Choboy (Volleyball) Roman Mangini (Football)
Taylor Christopulos (Gymnastics) Will Marshall (Golf)
Clara Colombo (Gymnastics) Karlie Moore (Track & Field)
Jagger Condomitti (Wrestling) Abbie Squier (Softball)
Marissa Cosentini (Bowling)  
Night at the Lied-AVB033Night at the Lied-AVB

Brook Berringer Citizenship Team

Created after the passing of quarterback Brook Berringer, the Citizenship Team recognizes Husker football players who have demonstrated a passion for service and involvement. To be named to the Team, football student-athletes must complete a minimum of six service projects, be in good academic standing, and have demonstrated excellent conduct. Recipients receive an award and are honored at the annual Spring Football game. Click here to view all previous Brook Berringer Citizenship Team honorees.

2024 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team

Cole Ballard Vincent Caroll-Jackson Cameron Lenhardt Gage Wager
Jahmal Banks Jeremiah Charles Luke Lindenmeyer Kai Wallin
Michael Booker Blake Closman Roman Mangini Javin Wright
David Borchers Conor Connealy Maverick Noonan  
Chief Borders Turner Corcoran Ethan Piper  
Derek Branch Justin Evans Teddy Prochazka  
Grant Brix Isaiah Garcia-Castaneda Ty Robinson  
Elliott Brown Mikai Gbayor Dylan Rogers  
Ru'Quan Buckley Isaac Gifford Ben Scott  
John Bullock Gunnar Gottula MJ Sherman  
Alex Bullock Jacob Hohl Ismael Smith Flores  
Brian Buschini Daniel Kaelin Gage Stenger  
Jimari Butler Tyler Knaak Taveon Thompson  

Tom Osborne Citizenship Team

Newly created and implemented for the first time in the 2013-2014 academic calendar year, the annual Tom Osborne Citizenship Team pays tribute to legendary Nebraska Head Football Coach and Athletic Director, Tom Osborne. Under Osborne, Nebraska was among the first institutions nationwide to implement a comprehensive Life Skills program. To be named to the Tom Osborne Citizenship Team, student-athletes must complete a minimum of six service projects, and/or mentoring activities in the academic calendar year, while being in both good academic and athletic standing. In it's eleventh year, Nebraska proudly named 396 student-athletes to the 2023-2024 Tom Osborne Citizenship Team. Honorees were recognized during the A Night at the Lied celebration and received a Tom Osborne Citizenship Team medallion. 

Postgraduate Scholarships

Life Skills facilitates all student-athlete postgraduate nominations. Opportunities are available at the institutional, conference, and national level; student-athletes who are in their final season of athletic eligibility and meet a minimum grade point average along with excellence in the community are eligible to apply. Award amounts range between $3,000 and $15,000 per scholarship. To apply, students must secure letters of recommendation, complete a personal statement and summarize all athletic achievements, academic honors and community service. Click Here to learn more.