Javascript is required.

Academic All-Americans

Nebraska has a rich history of producing results both on and off the field. The Husker softball program is second nationally with 30 CoSIDA Academic All-America awards won by 22 players, including first-team selection Mattie Fowler in 2016. Overall, the softball program's 30 academic All-Americans rank as the third-highest total nationally among all female athletic programs in NCAA history.

Nebraska is one of three programs with 30 academic All-America awards. Below is a list of the 10 softball programs that have earned the most CoSIDA Academic All-America Awards:

No. School
Academic All-Americans
1)  Alabama 35
2) Nebraska
2) Tennessee 30
4) Southern Illinois
5) Florida 24
6) Florida Southern
7) College of New Jersey 21
8) DePaul 20
  Arizona State
 10) Illinois Wesleyan

Below is a list of the 22 Huskers to earn CoSIDA Academic All-America Accolades:


Academic All-America Honor(s)

Denise Day*

1984 First Team
1985 First Team

Denise Feldhaus

1984 Honorable Mention

Shelby Mertins

1984 Honorable Mention

Lori Richins

1985 Honorable Mention
1986 First Team
1987 Second Team

Margie Ogrodowicz

1987 Second Team
1988 Second Team

Ruth Chatwin

1987 Third Team

Lori Sippel*

1988 First Team

Janelle Frese

1989 Second Team

Jill Rishel

1990 First Team

Ann Halsne

1991 Third Team
1992 Third Team

Denise McMillan

1992 Second Team
1993 Second Team
1994 Second Team

Karla Knicely

1996 Third Team

Jenny Smith

1998 Third Team

Jamie Fuente

2001 Third Team

Kim Ogee

2002 Second Team

Lizzy Rock

2006 First Team

KoKo Tacha

2006 Third Team

Molly Hill*

2008 Third Team
2009 First Team

Robin Mackin*

2010 Second Team

Ashley Hagemann*

2011 Second Team

Nikki Haget*

2011 Third Team

Mattie Fowler*

2016 First Team