Josh Wenger/Nebraska Communications

Program-Best 18 Soccer Players Named Academic All-Big Ten

The Nebraska soccer team produced a program-best 18 Academic All-Big Ten selections, announced by the conference on Wednesday.

Five Huskers earned recognition for the third time, including seniors Aubrei Corder, Hannah McKinney, Sinclaire Miramontez, Brenna Ochoa and Savanah Uveges. Corder, the school record holder for games started and played by a goalkeeper and minutes played by a goalkeeper, is also a two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar.

McKinney is a five-time honor roll member and 2018 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar. Miramontez adds the academic honor to her 2019 award haul, which includes second-team All-Big Ten pundits and being named to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List. Ochoa also earned second-team All-Big Ten recognition and received Nebraska's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award for 2019. Uveges, a Big Ten Preseason Honors recipient, is a nine-time honor roll member.

Five additional Huskers received Academic All-Big Ten status for the second time, including Grace Brown, Natalie Cooke, Theresa Pujado, Sarah Thrush and Allison Ulness. Brown, a 2019 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar, earned a 4.0 grade-point average last semester.

Eight Huskers made the Academic All-Big Ten Team for the first time, including Hannah Young and Ashley Zugay, both of whom earned a 4.0 GPA last semester. NU's other first-time honorees are Olivia Brown, Dakota Chan, Kenzie Coons, Kate Leachman, Adriana Maldonado and Kayla Mostowich.

Nebraska's 2019 total increases its number of Academic All-Big Ten selections to 115 since joining the conference in 2011. NU has produced double-digit honorees during all nine seasons as a member of the Big Ten. Before the 2019 total of 18 honorees, the soccer program's most Academic All-Big Ten selections in a season was 15 in 2017.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

2019 Nebraska Soccer Academic All-Big Ten Selections
Grace Brown, D
Olivia Brown, D
Dakota Chan, MF/F
Natalie Cooke, F
Kenzie Coons, MF
Aubrei Corder, GK
Kate Leachman, F
Adriana Maldonado, F/MF
Hannah McKinney, F
Sinclaire Miramontez, D
Kayla Mostowich, MF/D
Brenna Ochoa, MF/F
Theresa Pujado, MF
Sarah Thrush, F
Allison Ulness, MF
Savanah Uveges, F/MF
Hannah Young, MF
Ashley Zugay, MF/D