Fall 2023 Bowlin Photos-13

Nebraska Softball: A Tradition of Excellence

Nebraska is one of the nation's elite softball programs. The program began in 1976 and officially became an NCAA sport in 1982. The Huskers' tradition of excellence was established immediately, as NU qualified for the inaugural Women's College World Series in 1982 and advanced to four of the first seven national championship tournaments.

Entering the program's 49th year of competition in 2024, Nebraska softball has accumulated an impressive list of accomplishments. The Huskers have appeared in 26 NCAA Tournaments, including seven berths in the Women's College World Series, both of which rank in the top 15 in NCAA history. In addition to being successful on the national level, Nebraska has enjoyed success on the conference level. The Huskers have captured a total of 20 conference titles, including 12 Big Eight titles, six Big 12 titles and two Big Ten titles.

NU has also enjoyed individual success, producing 29 All-Americans and 103 all-region selections, as well as one winner of the prestigious Honda Award and three total nominees. The Huskers' commitment to excellence continues in the classroom, where NU has produced 30 Academic All-Americans, the third-highest total in NCAA history.

Head Coach Rhonda Revelle earned induction into the NFCA Hall of Fame in December of 2010. In 2013, she became Nebraska's all-time wins leader across all sports. In 2021, Revelle won her 1,000th game at Nebraska. Revelle has led Nebraska to 22 NCAA Tournaments in the last 29 seasons with eight top-10 national finishes and 15 top-25 rankings.

All told, Nebraska softball was ranked as the 12th-best all-time program in the nation by the NFCA in 2003 and CBS College Sports tabbed Nebraska as the 10th-best program of the NCAA Era in 2007.