Nebraska Bowling 2024-SB 2691Nebraska Bowling 2024-SB 2691


Written byJayven Brandt

After a week-off hiatus following a fourth-place finish in Texas, the Nebraska bowling team is fired up for the last half of the spring season, as the team heads to Lockport, Ill., for the first annual Flyer Classic hosted by Lewis. Action is set to begin at 10:35 a.m. (CT) on Friday, Feb. 9 and go through Sunday, Feb. 11, at the Strike N’ Spare II Bowl.

Despite not closing the door yet on the tournament titles, the Huskers have been strong this season, with numerous all-tournament team finishes and an overall record of 52-25. The Big Red is hungry for its first title of the season as only three regular season events remain.

Senior Kayla Verstraete has proven to be a force this semester with her most recent victory as the tournament MVP at the Prairie View A&M Invite with a 1,418 total pinfall.

Alongside the Huskers, Lewis will host a massive 21-team field competing for the title. The tournament will feature 10 of the Top 25 NTCA nationally ranked teams in the country, four of them residing in the Top 15, including No. 7 Nebraska, No. 10 Maryville, No. 11 Sam Houston, No. 12 Tulane, No. 16 Wisconsin Whitewater, No. 17 Sacred Heart, No. 18 Newman, No. 19, Valparaiso, No. 21 McKendree, Augustana, Aurora, University of Alabama Birmingham, Alabama A&M, Carroll, Carthage, Dominican, Elmhurst, Lewis, Marian, Quincy, St. Anselm and  Wright State.

The Huskers will kick off the tournament on Friday morning with five matches of five baker game total pinfall. Saturday will consist of each team participating in five matches of traditional games starting at 9:25 a.m. (CT).

The combined results will seed each team for Sunday's championship bracket to conclude the tournament. Each team will compete in three matches of best 4-of-7 baker games for final placements and awards beginning at 8:25 a.m. (CT).

Stay up to date with the action by following the Nebraska Women's Bowling Twitter (@HuskerBowling), Instagram, and Facebook.

Flyer Classic Teams Competing: 

No. 7 Nebraska
No. 10 Maryville
No. 11 Sam Houston
No. 12 Tulane
No. 16 Wisconsin Whitewater
No. 17 Sacred Heart
No. 18 Newman
No. 19 Valparaiso
No. 21 McKendree
University of Alabama Birmingham
Alabama A&M
St. Anselm
Wright State