Will Shields Joins Legendary List as 2010 Walter Camp ?Man of the Year?

NEW HAVEN, CT - Former University of Nebraska Outland Trophy winner and Kansas City Chief perennial All-Pro Offensive Guard Will Shields is the recipient of the Walter Camp Football Foundation's 2010 "Man of the Year" Award.

Shields joins a distinguished list of former "Man of the Year" winners, including Roger Staubach (Navy), Gale Sayers (Kansas), Dick Butkus (Illinois), Morten Andersen (Michigan State) and last year's recipient, John Elway (Stanford).

The Walter Camp "Man of the Year" Award honors an individual who has been closely associated with the game of football as a player, coach or close attendant to the game. He must have attained a measure of success and been a leader in his chosen profession. He must have contributed to the public service for the benefit of his community, country and his fellow man. He must have an impeccable reputation for integrity and must be dedicated to our American heritage and the philosophy of Walter Camp.

"Will Shields' remarkable longevity and success on the football field is quite impressive, but his care and devotion for others clearly symbolizes the life of Walter Camp and makes him an admirable recipient of the Man of the Year Award," said Foundation President Alphonse Paolillo, Jr.

A native of Lawton, Okla., Shields played collegiately at Nebraska and earned All-Big Eight honors three times. He was named to the Walter Camp All-American team in 1992, the same year he won the Outland Trophy. In 1999, Shields was selected to the Walter Camp All-Century Team.

Shields was selected by the Chiefs in the third round of the 1993 NFL Draft. After not making the starting lineup in his first professional contest, he proceeded to start 231 consecutive games (including playoffs) over 14 seasons. He went to the Pro Bowl 12 times and was a nine-time All-Pro selection. In addition, Shields was named to the NFL 2000s All-Decade Team. He retired following the 2006 season.

Shields also has been recognized for his community involvement. In 2003, he was honored as the Walter Payton Man of the Year. Shields and his wife, Senia, established The "Will to Succeed" Foundation," a charitable organization that is designed to guide, inspire and improve the lives of abused and neglected women and children. Will and Senia Shields live in Overland Park, Kan., with their three children - Sanayika, Shavon and Soloman.

Shields will join all 2010 major award winners and members of the 2010 Walter Camp All-America team at the organization's 44th annual national awards banquet on Saturday, Jan. 15, 2011, at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

The Foundation is offering a "Holiday Ticket Promotion" for the National Awards Dinner. Those choosing to buy two tickets for $400 before Dec. 31 will save $150. Reservations can be made by calling (203) 288-CAMP (288-2267).

Affectionately called "The Father of American football," Camp first selected an All-America team in 1889. A former Yale University athlete and football coach, Camp also is credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries, and the restriction of play to 11 men per side.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a New Haven-based all-volunteer group. It was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team and honoring deserving individuals.

Man-of-the-Year Recipients

2010 - Will Shields, Nebraska

2009 - John Elway, Stanford

2008 - Morten Andersen, Michigan State

2007 - Dick Butkus, Illinois

2006 - Mike Utley, Washington State

2005 - Dwight Stephenson, Alabama

2004 - Anthony Munoz, Southern Cal

2003 - Ozzie Newsome, Alabama

2002 - Jim Kelly, Miami (Fla.)

2001 - Mike Singletary, Baylor

2000 - Howie Long, Villanova

1999 - Gil Brandt, Dallas Cowboys

1998 - Lou Holtz, Kent State

1997 - Calvin Hill, Yale

1996 - Lynn Swann, Southern Cal

1995 - Reggie Williams, Dartmouth

1994 - Dick Anderson, Colorado

1993 - Warren Moon, Washington

1992 - Bob Griese, Purdue

1991 - Mel Blount, Southern

1990 - Nick Buoniconti, Notre Dame

1989 - Paul Brown, Miami (Ohio)

1988 - Andy Robustelli, Arnold

1987 - Levi Jackson, Yale

1986 - Willie Davis, Grambling

1985 - Rocky Bleier, Notre Dame

1984 - Don Shula, John Carroll

1983 - Roger Staubach, Navy

1982 - Merlin Olsen, Utah State

1981 - Otto Graham, Northwestern

1980 - Gale Sayers, Kansas

1979 - Jack Kemp, Occidental

1978 - Floyd Little, Syracuse

1977 - Fred Dunlap, Colgate

1976 - Edward Krause, Notre Dame

1975 - Pete Dawkins, Army

1974 - Jake Gaither, Knoxville College/Florida A&M

1973 - Duffy Daugherty, Syracuse/Michigan State

1972 - Clinton Frank, Yale

1971 - Doc Blanchard, Army

1970 - Harry Kipke, Michigan

1969 - Pete Rozelle, San Francisco

1968 - Ted Blair, Yale

1967 - Hamilton Fish, Harvard