Dick Spangler Golf Scholarship

The Dick Spangler Golf Scholarship Award is presented at the end of each golf season to a sophomore or junior golfer, who has made significant contributions to the men's golf program through his attitude, effort and team spirit. The recipient will be selected by the Dick Spangler Scholarship Committee.

Dick Spangler earned three letters for the Nebraska golf team from 1950 to 1952, was a Nebraska Amateur champion and served on the board of the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association. Always a gentleman, his quick wit, enjoyable sense of humor and his dedication to the game of golf bring honor and credit to our University and the great game of life.

Dick Spangler was inducted into the Nebraska Golf Hall of Fame in 1997. He passed away on Saturday, Nov. 8, 2003 in Lincoln. He is survived by his wife, Bobbie, and sons and daughters-in-law Rich and Marga, Rus and Gail, and Bill and Alesia.

Recipients of the Dick Spangler Golf Scholarship

2022-23: Reed Malleck

2021-22: Caleb Badura

2020-21: Branden Meyer

2019-20: Tanner Owen

2018-19: Jackson Wendling

2017-18: Niko Vui

2016-17: Justin Jennings

2015-16: Nathan Wong

2014-15: Josh Reinertson

2013-14: Ryan Grassel

2012-13: Manuel Lavin

2011-12: Neil Dufford

2010-11: Jordan Reinertson

2009-10: Brandon Crick

2008-09: Brett Sundberg

2007-08: Trent Price

2006-07: Drew Reynolds

2005-06: Judd Cornell