bowling big red invite friday-kc-0025bowling big red invite friday-kc-0025

Huskers Clinch NCAA Regional Berth

Lincoln, Neb. - The Nebraska bowling team is going dancing in search of its seventh NCAA bowling title as the Huskers will travel to Lansing, Mich., on April 5th for the 2024 NCAA Bowling Regional.  

Nebraska, an at-large bid in the 18-team field, joins No. 3 Youngstown State, Marian and Maryville in the Lansing Regional. Competition will take place on Friday, April 5 and Saturday, April 6. 

The NCAA regional will feature a double-elimination format with one winner from each of the four regionals advancing to the NCAA Championship in Detroit, Mich., on April 12-13 at Thunderbowl Lanes. 

The 2022 season marked the first time in the NCAA to host four regional sites and a winner advancing to the championship finals. 

The regionals will use the Mega Match format which includes a five-person team and baker total pinfall game. The first team to collect two games wins the match, and in the event of a 1-1 tie, a best-of-seven baker match will be used to determine a match winner. 

With today's NCAA bid announcement, the Husker bowling program continues its reputation as the only program in history to qualify for every National Championship tournament since the NCAA sponsored bowling in the 2003-04 season. The Huskers, who are ranked No. 6 in the latest National Tenpin Coaches Association (NTCA) poll, hold a season record of 79-36.

This is the Huskers first season without a regular season tournament title since their most recent National Championship in 2021. Nebraska finished the season with double runner-up finishes at the Stormin' Blue and White Vegas Classic and Flyer Classic, and added a pair of third-place finishes at the SFA Ladyjack Classic and Motiv Penguin Classic.

In 1990, Nebraska became the first collegiate program in history to win a National Championship for the original Men's team. The program won five National Championships (1990, 1991, 1995, 1996, 1997) before becoming a varsity sport in 1997-98 where it has since posted an additional eight additional National Championships (1999-IBC, 2001-IBC, 2004-NCAA; 2005-NCAA, 2009-NCAA, 2013-NCAA; 2015-NCAA and 2021-NCAA) while earning runner-up honors on four other occasions. 

Regional Match-ups: 

Region 1: Pittsburgh, Pa 
No. 1 Jacksonville State
Maryland Eastern Shore

Region 2: Rochester, N.Y.
No. 2 Arkansas State 
(William Smith and Fayetteville State will compete in a single elimination for the final slot) 

Region 3: Lansing, Mich.
No. 3 Youngstown State

Region 4: Arlington, Texas
No. 4 North Carolina A&T
(Alabama State and Belmont Abbey will compete in a single elimination for the final slot) 
Louisiana Tech 
Sam Houston State