Huskers Gear Up for Prairie View A&M Invite

Lincoln, Neb. - Fresh off a fifth-place finish and the team’s second baker 300 of the spring season at the Northeast Classic, the Nebraska bowling team gears up for another big battle of the season at the Prairie View A&M Invite in Arlington, Texas.  

Desiree Buchert (4th, 223.0) and Kayla Verstraete (10th, 219.8) led the way last weekend at the Northeast Classic as both were named to the All-Tournament Second Team in Delaware.

This weekend, Texas will host 12 of the nations best bowling teams all competing for the Prairie View A&M Invite title. This tournament will feature 10 of the Top 25 NTCA nationally ranked teams in the country, nine of which reside in the top 10, including No. 1 Jacksonville State, No. 2 Vanderbilt, No. 3 Youngstown State, No. 4 Louisiana Tech, No. 5 North Carolina A&T, No. 6 Arkansas State, No. 9 Stephen F. Austin, No. 10 Maryville, No. 11 Sam Houston State, Southern and host school Prairie View A&M.  

Nebraska has placed third-or-higher in each of the last three seasons the Big Red have competed in the tournament. 

The Huskers will kick off the tournament Friday at 10:45 a.m. (CT) with five matches of five baker game total pinfall. Saturday will consist of each team participating in five matches of traditional games starting at 9:25 a.m. (CT). Sunday morning will begin with one additional traditional match beginning at 8:25 a.m. (CT).

The combined results will seed each team for Sunday's Championship bracket to conclude the tournament. Each team will compete in two matches of best 4-of-7 baker games for final placements and awards.   

Stay up to date with the action by following the Nebraska Women's Bowling Twitter (@HuskerBowling), Instagram, and Facebook. Additionally, all matches will be broadcasted exclusively on (subscription to bowltv required). 

Prairie View A&M Invite Teams Competing:
No. 1 Jacksonville State
No. 2 Vanderbilt  
No. 3 Youngstown State 
No. 4 Louisiana Tech 
No. 5 North Carolina A&T
No. 6 Arkansas State
No. 7 Nebraska  
No. 9 Stephen F. Austin 
No. 10 Maryville
No. 11 Sam Houston State
Prairie View A&M