Javascript is required.
Jack Coil

Otabor broke the javelin school record on Saturday.

Track and Field

Otabor, Petersen Break Javelin Records at Michael Johnson

Nebraska track and field wrapped up the Michael Johnson Invitational in Waco, Texas on Saturday with two school records, two facility records and six event titles.

NU swept the top three spots of the women's javelin, behind a school record-breaking performance from Rhema Otabor. With a distance of 194-6 (59.28m), Otabor leads the NCAA. Maddie Harris finished as runner-up with a 183-3 (55.86m) and Mirta Kulisic claimed third with a distance of 171-4 (52.24m). All three throwers now rank in the top ten on the all-time list.

Arthur Petersen continued the javelin success on the men's side, breaking the 24-year-old school record with a 252-10 (77.08m) to place second. That is the sixth-best mark in the NCAA this season. Tyler Brown finished fourth with a distance of 200-4 (61.07m).

Axelina Johansson broke the facility record in her shot put victory wiith a 61-4 (18.69m). That puts Johansson at second in the NCAA this season. Taylor Latimer placed second with a season-best mark of 55-9 3/4 (17.01m) and Kalynn Meyer finished fourth with a 51-4 1/4 (15.65m).

Maxwell Otterdahl threw a personal-best 65-9 3/4 (20.06m) to win the men's shot put and climb to No. 3 on the all-time list. That distance is also the sixth-best in the NCAA this season. Jonah Wilson placed second with a 65-2 (19.86m) and Kevin Shubert finished fifth with a 61-5 (18.72m).

Darius Luff secured another title with a time of 13.43 in the men's 110m hurdles final. That time is the fastest ever run at the Clyde Hart Track & Field Stadium. Luff's last time competing was at the Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays, where he broke the school record. In the women's 100m hurdles, Johanna Ilves finished 11th with a 13.73.

In the women's high jump, Jenna Rogers tied her personal-best to finish first with a clearance of 6-1 1/4 (1.86m). That moves Rogers to fourth in the NCAA. Madison Yerigan (5-10,1.78m) and Brooklyn Miller (5-8, 1.73m) pitched in season-best clearances to finish third and sixth, respectively.

Tyus Wilson and Michael Hoffer each cleared 6-11 1/2 (2.12m) in the men's high jump to claim third and fourth.

Ieva Turke won the women's triple jump crown with a leap of 43-3 (13.18m). Rhianna Phipps took third with a mark of 42-9 3/4 (13.05m).

Micaylon Moore finished second in the men's triple jump, moving up to seventh on the all-time list with a 53-0 (16.15m). Terrol Wilson added a fourth-place finish with a 50-8 (15.44m).

Niko Schultz and Sam Easley cruised to second and third place in the 800m with personal-best times of 1:49.10 and 1:49.13.

In the pole vault, Drake Burton and Till Steinforth each cleared 16-2 1/2 (4.94m) to tie for sixth.

Nick Bryant ran a personal-best 46.55 in the 400m, placing ninth.

Kavian Kerr was Nebraska's top finisher in the 100m, placing 11th with a 10.54. Lorenzo Paissan pitched in a 14th-place finish, clocking a 10.62.

The Husker men (Luff, Kerr, Paissan, Garrett Kaalund) raced to a third-place finish in the 4x100m relay with a time of 39.76.

Bryant, Steinforth, Jacob Hyde and Joseph Clifford ran a 3:11.66 in the 4x400m relay to take seventh.

Nebraska returns to competition April 27-29 at the Drake Relays in Des Moines, Iowa.